Moving Update: Setback and Redirected

So I guess titling my last post “Meant To Be” was false advertisement because apparently, it was in fact NOT meant to be.

Short version: We are no longer buying that house.
Long version: I’m not even sure where to begin on this one so here we go…

I have been putting off writing about this because I wasn’t sure where to begin.  It’s definitely one of those bizarre stories.  Before we got serious about this new house, we had called the courthouse and made sure that the house did in fact sit on 40 acres.  We were told exactly what we wanted to hear: that it was.  Great!  Fantastic!  So we continued on and had an accepted offer.  It was a done deal.  Our future home, which was our dream home, would be ours.  2 weeks before closing, we find out that this property doesn’t exist.  What?!  Are you kidding me?!  Apparently before the previous owner lost the house, he re-mortgaged and kept 35 acres to himself and let the bank take the house and remaining 5 acres.  I won’t even begin on how messed up I think that is.  I don’t see how that is possible… I’m losing my property so I’m going to keep my land and let my house go?  No, it shouldn’t work like that.  Well nothing was adding up.  Matt called the courthouse again and asked the same question: Does this property have 40 acres?  He was directed to 3 different people who all said yes, it did.  I imagine he was just short of irate at this point and finally demanded what the heck was going on!  The lady put him on hold to check a book… a book!  not a computer… and she comes back saying, you’re right it only has 5 acres.  It hadn’t been updated yet.  The bank has had this property for 8 months so you can guess that this whole re-mortgage thing happened about a year ago… and they haven’t updated yet?  How is this even possible?  It amazes me how a County Courthouse – a building that, in my eyes, is so dependent on paperwork could seem so incredibly outdated and unorganized.  And the bank selling the property had this information the whole time.  Apparently they “overlooked” it.

Such a messed up situation.  And it’s a shame because we really wanted to be there.  Now we are back to square one.  I told my husband shortly after finding all this out that if it wasn’t meant to be, that’s fine.  I’m okay with that.  I just wished I would have known sooner.

I know we’ll end up where we’re supposed to be, and I, for one, am anxious to find out where that is!

2 comments

  1. Oh, I am so sorry! My heart goes out to you because the same thing happened to us! We were in the process of buying 11 beautiful acres in the mountains and were only a week away from closing when we found out that the land had been logged and because of the timber harvest permit and California laws, only 3 of the 11 acres could be improved! That meant that the other 8 acres had to stay “wild”. What good is 11 acres if you can only use 3 of them! Since we wanted to plant a large garden, have chickens, build a house and possibly have a barn and goat shed, that would have been more than 3 acres, especially since we had to also count the road in front of the property and the driveway in! We were so disappointed. The good thing is that we found another plot of land, 5 acres, soon after that was quite a bit less in price, with the hope of buying the 5 adjacent acres in a few years. So, in the end, I think we got what we should have had anyway. Good luck with your future property searches. I know you will eventually find something that is perfect for you and your family.

    • Vickie! That is so crazy! I told my Mom the whole ordeal was something you’d watch on court TV, haha. I’m so happy things worked out for you though. I saw a quote today on Pinterest that just screamed at me – “Until God opens the next door, praise Him in the Hallway”. We were so disappointed it didn’t work out, but I know we’ll find that perfect place for our family!

Leave a Reply

