Spring Cleaning… in January?

Well we just finished up another round of below zero temperatures.  The high today was back up in the low 30’s.  It’s cloudy with wind so it sure feels alot cooler than that.  Looks like we’re going to have a few days of ‘warm’ weather before the cold creeps back in.  I even heard of snow on the way…and/or rain.  To help cope with the depressive weather outside, I started Spring Cleaning – yes, I know it’s January.  All I know is that I’m extremely motivated to clean right now so I’m running with it.  Call it nesting or boredom… maybe a mix of the two, but magic is happening here in our home 🙂

window1 window2To add to the mayhem that is deep cleaning the house, we started on the baby’s room yesterday. After filling in holes, I grabbed my little pirate helper and we got all the trim, the doorway, and some spots on the ceiling all touched up and plan to cut and paint the walls today and tomorrow.  I hope to get all the painting done before the weather drops again.  And the room done by March so I don’t have to worry about it.  I figure it will be done wayyy before that though.

ollieI told my Mom that redoing the boys’ room and now the nursery – have been fun and a nice change; however, it’s making me want to redo the playroom now.  I guess before that happens, we should work on a few ‘internal’ home fixes that need to be done.  We’ve been busy working on improving the airflow to the upstairs in our old home.  If you’re new to my story, our home was built in 1900 and in certain parts, the age is shown.  Oddly what you would think to be a warm place (hence heat rises) is actually a colder place, so we have been trying to fix that problem.  Dampers don’t seem to do the job.  We had recently bought a fan to install in our ductwork to help push the air up, but that too proved to be a failed attempt.  We bought a bigger fan and plan to try and install it higher up the shaft to see if that will make a difference.  Let’s keep our fingers crossed!

Until then, I will continue my quest for home cleanliness and a finished nursery.  I have some chicken stock to make but have been putting it off because I’m not sure if I’m ready to break out the canner again just yet 🙂  And hopefully I will have a trip to Ikea in there (cough-Mom?-cough)  I’ve never been but have heard good things!  Like always, I’ll keep you posted!!

Leave a Reply

