Let’s Make Some Applesauce!

Well this is a little bit late, but better late than never.  Apples are still on the tree which means I’m still working hard.  I think I’m done freezing and have moved on to applesauce.  Now I am a complete sucker for homemade applesauce.  I can honestly say it has ruined me of ever eating store bought again.  E-V-E-R!

So let’s get started with how I do it…

appletreeFirst get yourself a BUNCH of apples.  Now I have done this twice so far and each time forgot to take a picture so just imagine a huge bucket of green apples on the counter.  Like with freezing apples, you want to peel, core, and slice your apples.  I put the slices in a produce protector concoction to prevent browning – 1quart water to 1 cup lemon juice.  Take out a big pot and place just enough water in it to prevent sticking.  I usually just cover the bottom and then a little extra.  You then want to scoop the apples out of the lemon juice water with a slotted spoon and put in big pot.

applesauceOnce you run out of apples, or your pot is full, you want to cook your apples until they are soft.  I usually do this slowly because 1) I have other stuff to do, and 2) it makes the house smell nice.  Once softened, I take that slotted spoon and scoop out the apples and place in strainer in sink.  You can use another bowl if you want but just keep that liquid – you’ll be using that pot again.  I keep the liquid to create that ‘runny’ consistency that applesauce has, and plus there’s alot of flavor in that!  Think apple juice in your applesauce – yummy!

Take those softened apples and place in food processor and puree.  Pour puree back in big pot.  It will look something like this.

applesauce1Now you bring to a boil and keep at boil while canning.  I do mine in quarts but pints will work fine as well.  Pour is warm sterile jars leaving 1/2″ headspace.  Cap and seal and boil 20 minutes (both pints and quarts) in boiling water canner.

BlogI do NOT add sugar – It’s just apples and water.  The apples alone provide amazing flavor and are naturally sweet enough.  Hope this is helpful!  Anyone else canning applesauce right now?

This post has been shared at:
HomeAcre HopFrugal-DaysFromtheFarmButton-Final

2 comments

  1. Three 5 gallons buckets full of apples later, I am done. I think next year I will invest in a manual peeler bc my shoulder is still killing me! But I agree, no need for Mott’s, homemade is the best!

Leave a Reply

