Emotional Rollercoaster

:sigh:

Not sure I know where to even begin with this one.  The past week has just been a rollercoaster of highs and lows and everything in between.  I think it’s safe to say my nerves are shot.

Three nights ago I took my husband to the hospital because he thought he had a mild heart attack – he’s 29 years old.  He was walking to go look at some ginseng with his uncle when his heart started rapidly beating – hard – and all out of whack.  From what I hear, he was white as a ghost, sweating and felt like he was going to pass out.  They did multiple tests and scans and found nothing.  So they sent him to a heart center.  We arrived there at 3am and there we sat for 48 hours under watch and had more tests done.  Thankfully they ruled out heart attack and Thankfully everything turned out positive where it needed to be positive and negative where it needed to be negative.  He now has to wear a heart monitor for the next 30 days in case his little ‘spell’ happens again.  And to make it even better, they gave us a defective monitor so we are awaiting our new one in the mail right now.  Go figure.

We got home yesterday around 4pm and I’ve just been trying to get back to it.  “Move on” if you will – but it’s hard.  That was so scarey!  So today I thought I’d ease my tension and finish up some canning I had waiting here at the house for me to do.  I had a basket full of goodies for me to work on when all this happened so needless to say – in the basket on the floor it stayed for 3 days.  I lost my tomatoes and a good chunk of green beans that were given to us to mold.  But I managed to salvage the rest of the beans and corn.

It took me about 4 hours (thanks to the boys) to sift thru the beans, snap them, and wash and de-cob the corn.  Phew!  What a job!  I ended up with 4 quarts of beans…. no wait…. that’s 2 quarts.  I had the craziest thing happen – 2 of my jars blew out their bottoms.  (Reading that over I realize how silly that sounds) but for real – I’ve never seen that before.

brokenjar

I’ve read about it, but wow it was crazy.  But having 2 jars of green beans spill out everywhere, after it took so long to prepare – I’d be lying if I said I wasn’t fighting back tears.  That little act of another something out of my control just cracked me.  After a good hug from the hubby I was back at it – As for the corn, I got 7 pints in the canner now and more to go.  I’m guessing another 4 pints maybe?

eggs

Onto happier times – Our youngest turned 2 over the weekend and our homestead is officially in full-egg production!  FINALLY!  All our ladies, duck included, are providing us with nice eggs.  My oldest finds the job of collecting eggs to be quite prestigious.  I hand him the eggs and the whole way to the house he’ll tell me which is the chicken egg, and which is the duck egg.  And I’m not allowed to touch them, oh no!  He makes that very clear.  He has to put them in the carton and close the lid and place it back in the fridge. 🙂  I think it’s cute.

apples
sorry, older pic

Well hopefully all this ‘excitement’ will dull down for awhile as we adjust back to our everyday routine.  Apples are coming soon so watch out for that!  Got a whole week planned of apple canning/freezing goodness 🙂  And not to mention a barn to fix.  But thru all the madness, take some time today to hug and kiss that someone special and tell them how much you love them.  I’m gonna go do that right now…

6 comments

  1. Sorry about the stress of your husband. I will definitely keep he and your whole family in my prayers. Enjoy your son at that age, they grow up altogether too fast as I am sure you know already. All the apple trees here are loaded down with apples.

  2. I had a jar break during canning today also. That has never happened to me before and it does just make you want to cry! So sorry about your Hubby! Positive thoughts coming your way!

    • Do you know what causes that? I had one of my corn jars break as well! I’ve been canning for almost 5 years and never broke a jar – now in one night I break 3! Thanks so much for the positive thoughts – well appreciated 🙂

      • I have had jars break like that for 2 different reasons. One time I was putting a cold jar into boiling water. The other, more common reason, is tightening the bands so tight before processing that the air inside the jar can’t expand.

  3. Sorry you had to go through such a scare its never fun! Congrats on the eggs! My buckeye and Heritage Rhode Island reds are 22 weeks and should be producing for me soon! I hear though that heritage breeds are slow to start and can go as far as 30 weeks before they start. I lost my Chanteclers to hawks sadly but I still have my easter eggers and a really good number of blue australorp hens that are still growing and picked up a pair of barred naked neck turken crosses and Im getting a pair or trio of AMAZING show quality barred rocks soon from my friend. My crested ducks should lay soon as well as their a really nice size.

Leave a Reply

