M.I.A.

HELLLLOOO!!

Sorry I’ve been M.I.A. for a little while – Matt had last week off before he started his new job this past Monday so naturally we decide to go on a 2 night trip somewhere.  For this little getaway, we chose Rough River Dam State Park in Kentucky.  It was a nice mini vacation – some much needed family time before getting back to the grind.  In addition to that, my good friend and my brother added new baby daughters to their families, I’ve been planning my son’s birthday party – the big 2! – and my freelancing has been rather busy.  I sit down at the computer and am troubled with the decision to either A) write on my blog which is something I really enjoy doing but make no money off of, or B) do freelance work for a company who pays me even though it’s not really something I want to be doing.  *Sigh*  So I throw my head back and groan and do what I should.  But this morning… I’ll steal a few minutes for myself!

Rough River Dam State Park
Rough River Dam State Park

Our weed patch garden production seems to be slowing down – Cucumbers are about on their last leg… (don’t let the word out but I’m secretly excited about this), more and more tomatoes are turning red and it looks like we have a pumpkin plant, Horray!  Brussel sprouts are coming in and looks like we have turnips popping up.  Unfortunately it looks like our 2nd round of beets aren’t going to make it.  We have some cantaloupe almost ready for picking and our peppers are still going strong.  Haven’t canned anything in awhile but am trying pizza sauce today so we’ll see how that goes.  But more importantly – we found eggs!  We have one chicken laying and our duck is laying daily now.  Now if only the other 6 chickens would get their act together!

brusselsprout
eggsBesides the garden, I’ve been working on rearranging some stuff in my kitchen which is helping to keep the clutter down and make things function more smoothly.  I added some corner shelves to put my cookbooks/binder, and canning books on.  I also rearranged our pantry where I store our canning jars which turned out oh so nice.  After awhile, things just get mashed in there so it’s nice to bring a little order to things again.  I even put labels to help find things better.

corner shelves pantry pantryWell that about sums up everything for now.  Sorry for the lack of posts lately – hope to get more frequent now that things are settling down.  It’s in the 90’s this week so stay cool!  Until next time…

This post has been shared at:
Backyard-Farming-Connection-HopHomeAcre HopFrugal-Days

3 comments

Leave a Reply

