Canning: Getting It Done

After a few days of being busy busy busy, things are starting to once again settle down.  To help in the whole calming of myself – I turned to canning.  Now I prefer to do my canning at night – It’s easier and at times cooler than doing so during the day.  But the main reason being the boys – with the kids in bed, I don’t have to worry about them.  The other day I was up til 3:00am canning my little heart out.  I told Matt I was in the “canning mood” (I’m sure you all know what I’m talking about) and can I did…

Started off that morning by picking the garden.  We had been in and out of town the previous few days so it was a task needing done.  Can you say cucumbers??  My goodness….

DSCF5074 DSCF5073 DSCF5072

Started off the night by doing some banana peppers, followed by pickles…

DSCF5075
Then with the giant cucumbers I had left over, I made more of Matt’s cucumber onion salad for him…

DSCF5076
And wait!  We’re not done yet!  I made jam, too.  I made Cinnamon Rhubarb Jam and another batch of my strawberry rhubarb jam.  After giving away 4 out of the 5 jars from the previous batch, this was almost a priority…

DSCF5077
DSCF5078

So by this time, it’s 3:00 in the morning and I’m tired.  Only to follow it up the next morning with jalapeno jelly and green beans.  I think that’ll do for canning for a few days.  Tomatoes are starting to turn red so stewed tomatoes are sure to come sooner than later.

This post has been shared at:
wildcrafting-wednesdayFrugal-DaysHomeAcre HopFromtheFarmButton-Finalclever-chicksHomestead-Barn-HopBackyard-Farming-Connection-Hop

10 comments

    • Well I’m sure that pizza sauce in itself was a job! I guess when you’re in the motion, you just run with it. I didn’t plan on being up that late – it just kind of happened, haha. I’ll tell you what though – I was hurting the next day 🙂

  1. How do you make Matt’s cucumber onion salad and do you can this? I’m new to your blog and also
    joined as a follower.
    Sue

Leave a Reply

