Pickled Beets

I’m sure when some people hear pickled beets they might involuntarily wrinkle up their noses.  Well if the only pickled beets you’ve ever had is from the grocery store – I don’t blame you! ugh!  Homemade pickled beets will change your world.

beets

As you might guess, I love pickled beets.  My husband and kids love pickled beets.  We will easily down a jar in one sitting.  I was a little nervous on how our harvest would turn out this year since the rain took out the first batch we planted.  The second batch came out ½ what we planted, but it was enough to put up 13 pints.  Matt got more seed the other day so we will be putting out our fall beets here soon.

This is my second year canning pickled beets and I must say this year went alot smoother.  My walls weren’t purple this year!  I wouldn’t recommend starting this project at 10 or 11 at night unless you are okay with canning til 2:30am.  But here’s what you do…

beets

1.  Pick beets and wash off excess dirt.  Leave 1″ on both stem and root.  Sort beets by size and cook until tender (about 1 hour) – Don’t over cook.  Peel beets while still warm.

cooking

peeled
2.  In large pot, combine the following for syrup:  3cup Sugar, 1T Whole Allspice, 1½ tsp Salt, 2 sticks Cinnamon; crushed, 3cup Vinegar, and 1½ cup Water.   (This makes enough for about 3 quarts beets – usually double recipe)

3.  Simmer for 15 minutes.  Add sliced beets.  Bring to boil but don’t let them boil.  With slotted spoon, pack beets in warm sterilized jars.  Cover with hot syrup and seal immediately.

beets

beets
And there you have it!  I like my beets chunky so you can slice thin if you prefer that – It doesn’t matter.
So do we have any other pickled beet lovers out there?

This post has been shared at:
clever-chicksHomestead-Barn-HopMelt-In-Your-Mouth-MondayBackyard-Farming-Connection-Hopwildcrafting-wednesdayFrugal-DaysHomeAcre HopFromtheFarmButton-Final

16 comments

    • So great you found me, I hope you like the recipe – It was my Grandma’s. I stopped by and shared this post (and some others) at Wildcrafting Wednesday 🙂 Thanks for the invite!

    • I hope you like it! I may be a bit biased but I think its the best around, hands down! We’ve turned anti-beet friends to the other side with it, hehe 🙂

  1. I love pickled beets. However, I can not tolerate sugar any more. I wonder if there is a sugar substitute that would work with this recipe. I have tried the pectin for jelly that doesn’t require sugar and that worked great but I don’t want jelly consistency here so I am not sure what I could use.

Leave a Reply

