Cucumber Onion Salad

If there is one thing that is producing well in our garden – it’s cucumbers.  We have them on steady supply!  I have done 3 batches of pickles so far, multiple batches of cucumber onion salad, given them away, and not to mention ate them!  But tonight I’ll talk about cucumber onion salad.

cucumber onion salad
This is something that my husband looks forward to every year from our garden.  He absolutely loves this stuff.  I, on the other hand, don’t really care for it.  I’ll taste it here and there but that’s about as far as it goes.  Well tonight we’re gonna give canning it a whirl and see how it turns out… and if you don’t can – you can just ignore the canning jargon and refrigerate it!

One of the beauties of this recipe is that you don’t have to have a certain amount of cucumbers and onions to make it – you can have 2 cucumbers or 40 cucumbers, just depends on how hungry you are 🙂

INGREDIENTS:
Cucumbers, Onions, Sugar, Vinegar, and Water

  1. What you wanna do is wash your cucumbers and onions and then slice them thinly.
  2. Over high heat, combine sugar, vinegar, and water.  The ratio you want to use is 1part sugar, 1part vinegar, 2parts water.  (so example: 1cup sugar, 1cup vinegar, 2cup water)  I like recipes like these because it’s easy if you need to make a little more brine to fill your jars.  You don’t have to get the calculator out to re-calculate the measurements.  Back to topic – you want to stir until sugar is dissolved.  Once boiling, it’s time to can…  (For those of you who are not canning, cover your cucumbers and onions with just enough brine to cover them completely.  Then you can either eat it right then, or refrigerate for later)
  3. Ladle the sliced cucumbers and onions into hot jars.  (I put 1tsp Alum in my quart jars, 1/2tsp for pints, for crispness – my lil’ secret)  Fill your jar 1/2 full with the brine and then remove air bubbles.  Add more cucumbers and onions if needed and enough brine to leave 1/4″ headspace.
  4. Adjust 2pc caps and process 15 minutes in boiling-water canner.

cucumber onion salad canned
Now we have never canned this before so I’m anxious to see how it turns out.  I know it sure smells good!  I’m sure my husband will crack one open in a few weeks to try it out – curiosity will get the best of him – so I’ll do an update whenever that happens.

So how about you all?  What have you been canning lately?

Got some fun things coming up here this week – canning pickled beets and revealing my recent project of creating a recipe binder so STAY TUNED!

**Disclaimer: This is not a Ball Canning Recipe.  I make no warranty, expressed or implied, regarding your individual results in your canning and preserving experience.  Simply put – can at your own risk.  Just sharing what I think is awesome! 🙂

**UPDATE (8/7/13):  Matt ended up cracking open a jar the other day and was pleased with how they turned out.  Said it tasted just like the refrigerated ones but maybe a tad bit sweeter.

This post has been shared at:
Homestead-Barn-Hopclever-chicksMelt-In-Your-Mouth-MondayBackyard-Farming-Connection-HopFrugal-DaysHomeAcre HopFromtheFarmButton-Finalwildcrafting-wednesday

22 comments

  1. I LOVE cucumber onion salad! I haven’t thought about it in years. When I was young a friend’s mom had it around all summer. I was at her house every day! Thanks for the recipe – I’m gonna make some for myself! (Found you at Clever Chicks Blog Hop!)

    • Well like I said, it’s NOT a ball canning approved recipe – just a recipe that my husband and I figured we could try to can… and so far, it has turned out great. Didn’t see much different than pickles so why not give it a shot? Thanks for having me on Wildcrafting Wednesday!

  2. Thanks! Since it turned out a little sweeter after processing, and it is pretty sweet to start with, what would you think of reducing the amount of sugar just slightly?

    • I think as long as you keep the sugar:vinegar:water ratio (1:1:2) you can do as much, or as little, as you please! If you’d like it to be more vinegar tasting and less sweet, I’d say just reduce the sugar – It’s all personal preference. I know my husband does not care for it to be real sweet. Since it tasted a tad sweeter after processing, we’ll do less sugar next time.

  3. Ive noticed when I make it fresh, there’s tons of water that comes from the cukes. I’ve started soaking them in salt for about 2 hours before I make the recipe and this greatly reduces the amount of water they shed. What do you think the outcome would be if tried with your recipe?

  4. Good evening from the east coast. I have been looking for a long time for a cucumber recipe that did not have all the pickling junk. So you have me curious to try this as I have cucumbers running out of my ears and can a lot of other items. My question is do you happen to know what pressure I should run the canner at for the 15min duration you mention above. Thank you for your time as I know this post has been around for a while but I just stumbled on it tonight.

  5. We were concerned about the ph on this recipe. My husband, a chemistry major in college, ran a ph and the result was 4.4, which is a safe level. We also sliced the cukes a little thicker and they weren’t as mushy as the first batch which we sliced paper thin. The slices width don’t affect the ph levels, just taste. Hope this helps.

  6. I’ve got tomatoes and cucumbers practically coming out of my ears, due to the insanely wet August we’ve been having. I’ve already made 2 batches of salsa, 2 batches of pasta sauce and 3 batches of crispy sweet pickles. I’m trying to find other recipes that I am able to can. I still have enough of my depression-era grandparents’ influence lingering in my soul that not finding way to store unused garden fare makes me want to cry, lol. So if you have any other canning suggestions that use tomatoes and cucumbers, please pass them along.

    • What about stewed tomatoes? I have a post on canning that as well… you just add cucumbers to the mix! Other tomato suggestions could be spaghetti sauce and/or pizza sauce. We’ve done both and have had success with them. Our cucumbers usually get eaten up before canning so I can’t help you too much there haha.

Leave a Reply

