Strawberry Rhubarb Preserves

I’ve been canning for about 4yrs now.  It is something I absolutely, hands down, no doubt about it, LOVE to do.  It may seem weird to others but I think it’s fun.  It’s relaxing.  Enjoyable.  Interesting.  It’s something that leaves me feeling proud and accomplished… and not to mention the results are fantastic!

Well after 2yrs of saying I’d make jellies and jams – I finally did today!  Mark it down in the books – my first attempt – Strawberry Rhubarb Preserves.

preserves

I saved all our strawberries just for this one batch…  so worth it.  I tweaked the recipe from the Ball Canning Book so I’ll put what I did below.  The final result was Husband Approved!

I had every intent of documenting this whole process with pictures, but my oldest ended up getting pink eye yesterday and the second I saw the smallest gap of free time this afternoon – I dove in headfirst and didn’t even think of the camera til the very end.  So enjoy pics of the aftermath 🙂

INGREDIENTS:
3cups Strawberries
2cups Chopped Rhubarb
1/4cup Lemon Juice
3Tbsp Low/No-Sugar Needed Pectin
3cup Sugar

  1. Combine strawberries, rhubarb, pectin, and lemon juice in stewpot.  While bringing to a boil, I took a potato smasher and went to work to squish down the strawberries.  Once boiling, I stirred in sugar til dissolved. Return to rolling boil.  Continually stir until desired thickness is achieved.*
  2. Remove from heat – skim foam if necessary.  Ladle into hot jars leaving 1/4″ headspace.  Adjust 2pc caps and process 10 minutes in boiling-water canner.

preserves

*Soooo I didn’t do this step.  Once it was boiling good, I set it aside and ladled it all up and processed it.  I figured it would “thicken up” while sitting.  Yea… it doesn’t do that.  My first attempt was the consistency of water so after I pulled them out of the canner, I opened them up, poured them all back out into the stewpot and boiled it longer and re-ladled and re-processed.  It does thicken up some but it won’t turn water to jello 🙂

Well there you have it!  Hopefully next time I’ll have more pics for you!

This post has been shared at:
Backyard-Farming-Connection-Hop-FeatureBackyard-Farming-Connection-HopHomeAcre HopHomestead-Barn-HopMelt-In-Your-Mouth-Mondayclever-chicksFrugal-DaysFromtheFarmButton-FinalWeekly-Homemaking-Party

9 comments

  1. Didn’t boil long enough and got syrup? Been there, done that! But it really doesn’t matter because the syrup is delicious over ice cream or oatmeal, or is great drizzled into homemade icecream or yogurt! And that bit about the pink eye – I can certainly relate! I had three very active and sports minded boys and between the bruises, sprains, splinters and – yes – pink eye, my life never had a dull (or quiet and relaxing) moment! My boys are all grown now and sometimes I actually miss the chaos. Thanks for stopping by my blog, I’m sure we will converse from time to time in the future!

    • Wha?? Over ice cream?? I never even thought of that! But yes, our boys are 21 months apart with our oldest being 3 – and about a week ago they woke up and decided to be bitter enemies so they have really kept us on our toes here lately. They definitely keep me busy and like you said – never a dull moment! Take care, Vickie!

Leave a Reply

