Chick Pics

Just when you think you’ve seen it all…  We now have bottled water from a tap, whoo!  Got our new water softener yesterday along with this new baby – a reverse osmosis system.

sell 026

Probably one of the best things my husband and I have done since moving out here.  Now we don’t have to worry about the nitrates from the field in our water… because I’m sure it was in there.  I know our well is super deep and it would filter somewhat thru the ground, but now I don’t have to worry about it anymore.

But now – for what you really came to see – CHICK PICS!  Finally got some batteries for the ol’ camera and thought I’d take some better ones than the ones taken with my cellphone.  We added two more Barred Rock chicks yesterday for a total of 8 chickens: 4Rhode Island Reds and 4Barred Rocks.

sell 021

They are about 2wks old now and getting big.  I can’t believe how FAST they grow!  Today I’m separating the ducks since they are getting so big and really starting to make a mess of things with the water.  I kind of don’t really want to because they all seem to get together so well, but they’re only going to get bigger…


I took our dog, Zoey, down there so she could see/smell them the other day.  She managed to find a little hole in the box to stick her snout in which I thought was pretty funny – but not as funny as what it looked like from the chicken’s perspective…


The last of our snow is melting from our storm last weekend.  Looks like my daffodils are okay and about to bloom.  I noticed my rhubarb is perking up as well.  Seems like Spring and Winter are in a bare knuckle brawl and to be quite honest, I’m not sure who is winning.  (GO SPRING!)  All I know is that the ground is so saturated that I have never seen soooo much mud, haha.  Well I think I’ve stalled long enough – here’s some pics of the girls… and possibly ‘gents

One comment

  1. Love the picture of zoey….too funny. I can’t believe you got black chickens….I can’t remember ever seeing that before!

Leave a Reply

