Garden Fever

It’s February!  You know what that means, don’t you?

Garden Planning Time!!!  Whoooooo!

I always feel so nerdy this time of year because I get so dang giddy over vegetables.  And because last year was such a bust due to the drought, I’m even MORE excited!  I hardly got to can anything last year except beets, pickles, and banana/jalapeno peppers.  We put some pumpkin in the freezer but even with that – nowhere near what I’d like to have… not even close!  So without further ado, let the planning begin!

Well to give you an idea on what we’re working with out here, we have just under 3,500sqft of garden space divided into 3 different locations.  I know it sounds like alot, but when you grow to support a family of 4 thru the whole year – along with handouts to family and friends – it turns out to be the perfect amount of space.  When it comes down to it, I really, truly, honestly enjoy doing it.  I get a better sense of satisfaction of providing for my family by doing this than I do going to work for 8hrs a day.  Not to mention it tastes a million times better!

The lineup, as of now, is looking like the following: cabbage, green beans, corn, beets, cucumbers, banana peppers, jalapeno peppers, tomatoes, pumpkins, onions, potatoes, zucchini, peas, carrots, broccoli, cauliflower, lettuce, watermelon, green peppers, brussel sprouts, and melon.  Whew!  In addition, we have rhubarb and strawberries as well.

future berry patch :)
future berry patch 🙂

I’d even like to add to the madness this year by planting a separate berry patch: raspberries, blackberries and blueberries.  We have two apple trees in the front yard and one on our property line, but we haven’t been able to enjoy their fruit yet since last year’s weather was horrible… hopefully this year!  I’ve been craving homemade applesauce!  Oh, and apple crisps in the dutch oven, oh my!

Well now that I’ve drooled all over my keyboard, I’d love to hear about your garden plans!

Leave a Reply

